KENTUCKY BOARD OF RADON SAFETY AD HOC SIRG COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES May 16, 2023

An AD HOC SIRG Committee meeting of the Kentucky Board of Radon Safety was held at the Department of Professional Licensing located at 500 Mero Street, Frankfort, KY 40601, and via Zoom on May 16, 2023.

MEMBERS PRESENT MEMBERS ABSENT

Kyle Hoylman, Chair Dr. Ellen Hahn

Vance Walker, Vice Chair

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

GUESTS Stephanie H. Robinson, Board Administrator

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Hoylman called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

NEW BUSINESS

Chair Hoylman reviewed a letter received from Secretary Hicks. The letter describes what is needed from KBRS to move forward, including how to differentiate funding vs. income on the proposed budget.

Chair Hoylman and Vice Chair Walker discussed the transition of SIRG funding from CHFS to KBRS:

1.

- a. Demonstrate how the EPA award will be used.
- b. Create statutory provisions and EPA SIRG Handbook,
- c. Description of other agencies involved in the process, and
- d. Governor Beshear will send a letter authorizing KBRS to receive the funds
- 2. Create a KY sam.gov and KY grants.gov.
 - a. The committee will procure KSTC.org for assistance
- 3. Method B of transition was chosen. This method will close out CHFS funding and allow KBRS to move forward. The prospective date is June 30, 2023, with an application date of 2023-2025.

Chair Hoylman to request a meeting with EPA Region 4 to open discussion on the best method of moving forward.

Chair Hoylman to provide a response to the letter received from Secretary Hicks.

Chair Hoylman and Vice Chair Walker discussed several programs that would benefit from SIRG Funding, such as, but not limited to, schools and daycares.

Chair Hoylman and Vice Chair Walker had a discussion regarding the American Lung Association administering services on behalf of KBRS. Chair Hoylman to create an RFI to present.

Next AD HOC SIRG Committee Meeting TBD.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

None.

ADJOURN

A motion was made by Vice Chair Walker to adjourn the meeting at 4:46 p.m. Motion seconded by Chair Hoylman, carried.

Kyle Hoylman, Chair